In the centre of this picturesque and popular tourist town in Niagara-on-the-lake, Ontario, Canada, is St. Mark Anglican church founded in 1792. During The War of 1812, the church was used as a hospital by the British and as a barracks by the Americans. The Americans occupied the town in 1813, destroying Fort George and digging rifle pits in the cemetery surrounding St. Mark’s. The rifle pits can still be seen today.
The church is surrounded on three sides by a graveyard containing some very old stones. Not much character to the cemetery itself but many stones of interest.
This grave never to be disturbed
The blessed communion fellowship divine
We feebly struggle
They in glory shine
Yet all are in thee
For all are thine
In the silent tomb we leave them
Till the resurrection morn
When our Saviour will receive them
And restore their lovely form
Requiescant in Pace. 1855
Friends nor physicians could not save
This mortal body from the grave
Nor can the grave confine him here
And Christ shall bid them to appear. 1865
A stranger to hypocrisy
And ready to reveal his mind
A warmer heart, more open hand
Or noble spirit, few will find.
The pains of death are passed
Labour and sorrow cease
And life’s long warfare closed at last
His soul is found in peace. 1885
The trial is ended, thy rest is won.